• InsdPgBg.jpg
  • King’s College Celebrates Rev. James Lackenmier, C.S.C. Award for Achievement and Leadership; McGowan School of Business Forum

    King’s College Celebrates Rev. James Lackenmier, C.S.C. Award for Achievement and Leadership; McGowan School of Business Forum
    Proceeds Support Presidential Hope Fund

    Wilkes-Barre, PA, November 14, 2019 – On October 17, King’s College celebrated the Rev. James Lackenmier, C.S.C. Award for Achievement and Leadership, honoring local attorney and philanthropist David Selingo, Esq. ’89 at the Westmoreland Club in Wilkes-Barre. More than 300 alumni, current students, faculty, and friends of the College attended the evening celebration, and proceeds from the event totaled $330,675 in support of the Presidential Hope Fund.

    Established in 2014, the Presidential Hope Fund is a critical retention tool that provides additional financial support for King’s students in need. Depending on a student’s unique circumstances, resources in this fund help to cover the cost of tuition, room, board, and/or books. To date, approximately $1 million has been allocated directly to more than 400 financially at-risk students.

    The Rev. James Lackenmier, C.S.C., Award for Achievement and Leadership was established in honor of King's seventh president, Rev. James Lackenmier, C.S.C., in recognition of his 18 years of leadership. The Lackenmier Award honors a member of the King's College community who has achieved excellence in his or her field, who has demonstrated exceptional philanthropy and high ethical standards, and who embodies the spirit of King's College. Past recipients of the award include Timothy Morris ’64; Richard J. Pinola ’67; Allan M. Kluger, Esq.; Glenn Tyranski ’84; and Thomas R. Smith ’77.

    The McGowan School of Business Forum preceded the Award Dinner. Now celebrating its 15th year of connecting students with leaders in the business field, most of whom are King's graduates, the Forum provides valuable mentoring sessions and networking opportunities for King’s students. Since 2005, approximately 85 students a year have participated in the mentoring session followed by a networking reception and formal dinner. The Forum rotates annually between New York, Philadelphia, and Wilkes-Barre.

    Photo cutlines:

    KINGSCOLLEGE_LACKENMIER_HR-7: Two former Presidents and the current President of King’s College gathered at the Rev. James Lackenmier, C.S.C Award for Achievement and Leadership celebration held at the Westmoreland Club. Pictured L-R: Rev. James Lackenmier, C.S.C.; Rev. Thomas O’Hara, C.S.C., Ph.D., ’71; Award Recipient David Selingo, Esq. ’89; and President of King’s College Rev. John Ryan, C.S.C., Ph.D.

    KINGSCOLLEGE_LACKENMIER_HR-2: Students and faculty attended the McGowan School of Business Forum prior to the Award dinner. Pictured L-R, First Row: Dr. Joan Blewitt, Tabitha Grabowski ’20, Bailey DeLellis ’21, Jared Gambino ’20, Emily Viteritti ’20, Sierra Hembury ’20, Angela Piscitelli ’19, Alexis Zalutko ’21, Anna Klymuk ’21, Mindina Lieback ’21, Krista Vogue ’20, Matthew Labenski ’20, Connor Zorger ’20, Dean Barry Williams

    Second Row: Emma Lehman ’21, Josephina Treslar ’21, Lauren Geiger ’21, Ali Teel ’20, Cameron Anklewich ’21, Joshua Wynn ’20, Alexandria Smolenak ’21, Sophia Sacknievich ’20, Michele Ambrosino ’21, Cade Flanley ’21, Matthew Rodriguez ’20, Nick Pelosi ’20

    Third Row: Dr. J.C. Blewitt ’07, Rebecca Kinzinger ’20, Aaron Dobbs ’21, Desiree Scott ‘21, Remy Votta ’20, Nick Vitanovec ’20, Cameron Tuck ’20, Marlene Hamad ’21, Gabriella Vito ’21, David Emmett ’20, Alex Wampole ’20, Tyler Millan ’20, Saud Alqahtani ’20

    Fourth Row: Chase Feeney ’20, Annalisa Jolley ’20, Joshua Hunter ’21, Madison May ’20, Mary Kate Klodarska ’21, Madelyn Ross ’21, Brooke Miller ’20, Jake Fries ’21, Brennan Walsh ’20

    Fifth Row: Kyle Friebolin ‘20, Justin Zaffino ‘20, Anthony Giovagnoli ’21, Michael McFadden ‘20, Alyssa Gesek ‘21, Leo Woelkers ‘20, Justin Januszko ’20, Kyle Osterhoudt ’21, Joey Lonardi ’20

    Sixth Row: Andrew Wensel ’21, Ethan Hasenzahl ’20, Kyle McKiernan ’20, Robert Mueller ’21, Abigail Noone ’21, Denis Kennedy ’20, Eann McCloe ’20, Travis Steele ’20

    Seventh Row: John L. Camp ’19, Trevor Douenias ‘21, Gabriel Vansuch ’20, Matthew Nealon ’21, Sean Morrissey ’20, Rebecca Prociak ’20, Nicholas Callahan ’21, Jake Adamski ’21

    Eighth Row: William O’Malley ’20, Jonathan King ’20, Joshua Frankevich ’20, Joshua Poplawski ’19, Andrew Hudak ’20

    About King’s College - King's College is a Catholic institution of higher education animated and guided by the Congregation of Holy Cross. King's pursues excellence in teaching, learning, and scholarship through a rigorous core curriculum, major programs across the liberal arts and sciences, nationally-accredited professional programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels, and personal attention to student formation in a nurturing community.

  • Upcoming Events Upcoming Events


Greater Wilkes-Barre Chamber of Commerce  2 Public Square , Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701  570. 823.2101